Don’t judge me.

You Can't Judge a Book by the Cover

You Can’t Judge a Book by the Cover (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Daily Prompt: Judgment Day

 

If you were to judge your favorite book by its cover, would you still read it?

 

First of all, I can’t tell you what my favorite book is. I have probably read thousands of books and some of them are being read two, three or even four times. Even if I could narrow my choices down to one author, I’d still have several books to choose from.

 

Secondly, yes I read books with horrible covers, ugly covers and sometimes no cover at all. I mean, most of them have “dust jackets” now and those just fall off anyway. So, I often take that “jacket” off and place it inside the book.

 

Now, I’d like to talk about something or someone else you shouldn’t judge by their cover. People.

 

In general, what a person wears or how they look tells you very little about that person. The leader of the local  gang may look rough on the outside but have a heart of gold inside.On the other hand, someone who dresses extremely well and makes sure they are gorgeous every single day may be too self-centered to care about anyone else.

 

Going beyond clothes and/or someone’s outward experience isn’t easy. Polls and statistic show that most, if not all, people have an easier time being friendly to a good-looking person. That’s why you’re suppose to look good for interviews, for dates and pretty much anytime you’re in the public eye.

 

Leonardo da Vinci said that we unconsciously notice symmetry. But, does that account for how we judge people? I don’t think so.

 

If you took the aforementioned gang leader and gave him or her designer clothes, expensive shoes and the latest hairstyle, he or she would automatically be regarded as rich and/or sexy. Give a rich person rags and torn tennis shoes and he or she becomes a street urchin.

 

Therefore, it’s my opinion that we judge people not only by their looks but by how they are dressed. Being dressed well usually means someone is at least moderately wealthy because a poor person can’t afford a million dollar outfit. Therefore, I think we judge people by how rich they are or, at least, how wealthy they appear to be.

 

Now, as I’m writing this, I’m dressed in jeans, a man’s T-shirt and $20 shoes. I have my hair in a pony-tail. So, how would you judge me? Would you think I’m rich or poor or middle-class? Do you think I’m young, old or somewhere in between (no fair looking at my profile)?

 

It’s hard to tell because you can’t see my clothes. You can’t see my age.

 

So, my advice is the following: Don’t judge me. Don’t judge me at all. Don’t judge anyone else if you can help it. As Chris Brown says, “Don’t judge me and I won’t judge you.”

 

The next time you find yourself in an area with people you don’t know, look around. See which ones you normally wouldn’t talk to and try to figure out why. Then, either go talk to them anyway or at least pay attention to what they do. Is the gang leader being nice to someone? Is the expensive lawyer talking only about himself or herself? Is the kid with acne all over his face friendly or is he standing alone from rejection?

 

There are a lot of reasons not to judge a book or a person by their cover, but the most important thing to remember is that you need to look inside.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Don’t judge me.

  1. Pingback: Judging a book by its cover | thelissachronicles

Leave a Reply

