C is for Couseling

First, let me Apologize (A) for starting the A-to-Z Challenge late. I signed up for it with good intentions and I actually had high hopes I’d write something for each day of the challenge. Granted, this is Boring (B) but I can only say that I let myself procrastinate and fouled up.

C is for CounselingCounseling is also known as analysis, psychotherapy, and talk therapy. I can tell you that it will help anyone who has a mental health issue or two. The best type of therapy is called “Cognitive Behavioral Therapy.” It helps people understand their thoughts and feelings. Awareness of the thoughts in your mind can profoundly influence your behavior.

From now on, I plan to write about Mental Health. For each letter, I will attempt to find a word, a term or a phrase dealing with a mental condition. But, don’t take this the wrong way. Having a mental health issue is not always the same as having a mental illness despite anything you may have read before. I had intended to write “A is for ADHD” on April 1st, but the condition known as Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder is not always a bad thing. Many people thrive with ADHD or ADD, as it’s sometimes called.

Counseling

Counseling (Photo credit: Alan Cleaver)

3 thoughts on “C is for Couseling

  1. Please read “Adult ADHD” under Related articles. It describes the good parts of having ADHD along with the bad, It also shows how hundreds (if not thousands) of adults have built coping mechanisms and don’t know they even have ADHD. I know that’s how it was for me!

Leave a Reply

