“I’m fine” really means “Get lost.”

Daily Prompt: Morphing

by michelle w. on May 10, 2013

Language evolves. The meaning of a word can shift over time as we use it differently — think of “cool,” “heavy,” or even “literally.”

Today, give a word an evolutionary push: give a common word a new meaning, explain it to us, and use it in the title of your post.

Several words and an abbreviation or two went through my mind on this prompt, but most of them were already taken. Finally, I chose one of my made-up abbreviations. Within three sentences, I realized this abbreviation sounded too much like another, more X-rated word. So what to do?

I decided to go with “Lost” because I felt lost with this daily prompt. I looked up “Lost” only to find several pages about the television series. I then typed dictionary in my search box and beheld a few definitions that seemed to boring to mention. But, Urban Dictionary gave me this interesting thought:

I’m fine
1. The more polite way to say “… get lost.” 

It’s funny because “I’m fine” is your automated response to “How are you”? And don’t you agree it’s usually said so that the person asking the question will leave you alone? At the very least, you don’t want them to pry into your life.

Therefore, why not fully morph “I’m fine” into “get lost” or “go away” and put it in the Webster Dictionary as such.

If  we really want people to know how we feel, maybe we should buy stickers of different emoticons (now there’s a modern word) and put one or more of them on our bodies.

Here’s my idea: Put a happy face on your face and another sticker for how you really feel on your arm or anywhere it’s less noticeable. Then, only people that really care about you will look at you long enough to see the second sticker and you wouldn’t have to say, “I’m fine” when you really want a person to “Get lost.”

 

 

One thought on ““I’m fine” really means “Get lost.”

  1. Pingback: Daily prompt/Morphing | annetteharris42

Leave a Reply

