Sorry about that last post – now deleted

I originally checked in to explain my eight-day absence, but when I saw what had occurred on my blog, I became upset.

I’m angry and frustrated someone or something else (botnet?) wrote a post on my account without my permission. I am very sorry for the post on June 2, 2013 which is now deleted. It was not written or copied by me, nor would I willingly allow something like that on my blog.

From the “related articles” (Zemanta), I found I’m not alone. “Botnets” attacked thousands of WordPress blogs and apparently broke into hundreds of them. Perhaps the guides below will help others who had the same problem.

I suggest we install a security step which seems extremely simple to me. Why not build in a challenge question? You know the ones you have to answer before getting your password reset and/or sent to you in an email. We could choose a  question that no one else is likely to guess and be required to answer it before publishing a post. On the other hand, why isn’t there already a “Prove you are a human” challenge on WordPress? They are on almost every other website I ever visit.

 

One thought on “Sorry about that last post – now deleted

  1. Pingback: Sunday Showcase June 9, 2013 – printed on June 10 | Sunshine Factor

Leave a comment